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Zach Johnson
Quick Quotes

Q. Like Mike Tirico was mentioning, you look at
your card, and you see two birdies, 16 pars and he
called it benign early in the broadcast.  It was
anything but.  What a roller coaster it was for you?
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, I mean, basically one hole in
particular was a roller coaster.  There was a lot of good
out there.  There was a lot of boring fairway green,
missed putt golf.  But there were a couple incidents
that were highlights and/or asterisks.  I don't know how
you'd label it.

Q. Let's get right to 17.  You said this might have
been one of the best par saves you've ever had in
your career?
ZACH JOHNSON: Yes.  This is ridiculous.  That is an
open-faced, PXG 4-hybrid from no -- I have no idea
how far we really were, but I could just kind of guess
that I'm going to get it over the water, ideally get it
around there so I can get up-and-down for a 5, and
then that happens.  I mean, it was perfect, obviously.
But, yeah, you just got to kind of grin at it and continue
on.

I was using the lateral hazard rule to my advantage
there, and drew a good lie, and obviously the putt was
--

Q. You had to play it off?
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, you can't not at that point.  I
don't know what a mic drop is, but that's pretty close.

Q. So from there, you're counting it up.  There's
your 4.
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, yeah, yep.  It was -- let's talk
about the tee shot was so bad that I had to go in that
position.  That's where I kind of got ahead of myself.

Q. What was Damon saying?
ZACH JOHNSON: Damon was -- the beauty of that
drop was if we don't have a good lie, which we
obviously had a good lie in the rough, is that we could
hit a wedge on the fairway and try to play for a 5 that
way.  But the lie was good enough that I could -- it's a
4-hybrid.  I mean, it was high.  With a jumper lie like
that, I think anything around that pin, I've got a chance
to get up-and-down, and it landed, obviously, perfect.

According to the fans and the caddies that were on the
green, it almost went in.  Maybe I got unlucky?  No.

That's top three of all times.

Q. Speaking of maybe a little unlucky, the third
hole, you see how that played out.  It was right on
the edge of the lip?
ZACH JOHNSON: Right.

Q. You did the count.  Here's the putt.
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, whatever.  It was 18 feet or
so.  It looked like it was going to fall in because it was
coming in the back door there.  Once you get to the
ball, once you have ample time to get to the ball, you
have 10 seconds.  Regardless if that ball -- which I
found out, if that ball is moving in those ten seconds,
it's still deemed to be at rest.

Because the ball did come to rest, as we can see, the
label's not moving and I'm counting.  You can see me
counting.  That's ten seconds.  Now there is a line
there, so I don't want to step on it, but now the ball is
rolling, and I'm like, I can't touch it, it's moving.  As I get
closer to it, it's moving even more.  So I don't want to
touch a moving ball.  However, even if I would have, it
wouldn't have mattered.  It's a 4.  That's all I know is it's
a 4.

Q. In the moment you might have thought, oh, I
have a chance.
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, I probably should have
walked slow up there and taken my time.  But it's a rule
protection for pace of play.  I guess there's been some
incidents way back in the past, so that's the way it is.

Maybe I used the rules to my advantage on 16, and
maybe I got bit a little bit on 3.  But, hey, it wasn't in at
one point, and they said it took about 15 seconds to fall
in, so it was about five seconds over.  So it's okay.

Q. Overall, shot back.
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, second round.  It's no big
deal.  Got a chance, got an opportunity for the
weekend, and I love what we're doing and how we're
doing it.  Lot of fairways, lot of greens, and we'll
continue doing that and see what happens.

Q. Who knows, by the end of the week there may
be a plaque for where you were on 17 with that par
save?
ZACH JOHNSON: Oh, I'm not so sure I'll be proud of
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that one.

Q. Blemish-free scorecard, but kind of a unique
sort of a day.  Just talk about 16 and number 3, if
you would?
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, 16 was the most.  I kind of
wouldn't say 3 was that big of a deal.  But 16, I hit an
awful tee shot, and it was kind of hard to determine
where the ball crossed, but I think my playing partners
and I were fairly conservative.  I don't like to push it on
that.

So we took the mark and I used the rule to my
advantage and went lateral, which was towards 16 tee
box.  There was kind of a brown area there that was
within two club lengths, so I dropped it there, and I
thought, you know what?  If I get a decent lie I can
maybe give it a whirl because there's really not a whole
lot there between me and the hole, and maybe I can
get it around the green and make a 5.  If I don't get a
good lie, I'll just wedge it out on the fairway and try to
get up-and-down for 5.

So I got a great lie.  Just opened up a 4-hybrid, and it
started over in the grandstands and drew in there.
Obviously, where it landed is about the only place it
could land to get that close.

At that point you have to make that putt.  I mean, you
can't not hit that shot and make that putt.  It felt good.
It felt good to get away with that 4.  That's as good of
an up-and-down as I've witnessed or performed.

Q. What made you think of going right on 16?
Have you thought about that in the past?
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, where I was there if I would
have dropped, it would have been -- well, one, it was
pretty thick rough, so I would have obviously just
wedged it down the fairway and played for a 5 at best.
Yes, 5 at best.  But I'm like, hey, you couldn't really tell
where the line was on 16, whether or not I could get
two club lengths on the tee box.  If I could have gotten
on the primary cut, tee box cut, I'm like I know I can get
it on the green from there.  We kind of had a ballpark
number.

I couldn't, however there was an area there that was
very brown and dried up, and probably worked to my
advantage that I couldn't because it didn't.  It popped
up, and it, obviously, it got there pretty easily.

Q. So anyone who has dropped food knows about
the five-second rule.  But have you ever heard of
the 10-second rule before?
ZACH JOHNSON: Oh, yeah.  The 10-second rule has
always been there.  Vague to some degree.  I really
didn't know.  The bottom line is I went to tap it in after

10 seconds and the ball was moving.  At that point,
even if the ball is moving, it's deemed to be at rest
because it's on the lip.  Don't ask me why, but that's
just the way it is.

So even if I would have hit a moving ball there, it would
not have mattered.  Technically I wouldn't have to tap it
in either, I guess, because it's a one-shot penalty.
Once the ball is in the hole, the ball's in the hole.

So you can call it unfortunate.  You can just call it the
rules of golf.  I really don't know.  I'm not going to lose
one second of sleep.  I don't want to say it's irrelevant.
It's just the way it goes.  It's good to learn the rule
though.  10 seconds is there for pace of play is my
guess.  That would be an assumption, but that's just
the way it goes.

Q. The real bottom line is you set up pretty well for
the weekend though?
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, that's just it.  There are still 36
holes left of golf, and I like the control I have right now.
It's just a matter of going out there and executing.  That
makes it fun.

Q. Was there any question on the ten seconds or
what was your conversation with Mark?
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, I brought up the situation
where like what if I would have marked it?  Because
technically there was still somebody -- one of my
playing partners could still putt.  What if I would have
marked it, placed it, do I get a bonus 10 seconds?  And
I didn't really get an answer.  But I was pushing it at
that point.

Then to further that, if you roll it up there to eight
inches, let's say eight inches, and you mark it because
you're going to step on somebody's line.  For whatever
reason, you have to mark it, clean your ball, whatever,
and then the ball rolls in after you place it and you mark
it, it counts.  So that ball is deemed to be at rest and
yet it rolled in, but that one counts.  But if it's on the lip,
it doesn't.  It's a rule.  I'm not going to say who did it.

Q. The ten seconds doesn't start until you reach
the hole.
ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, I think it said you have to
enable the player ample time or reasonable amount of
time.  That's what it was, reasonable amount of time to
get to the hole, and that's when the ten seconds
begins.  I mean, if you see the footage, granted they
can go right up on the ball too.  You can see the print of
the ball.  The ball, one, it did come to rest.  Two, I was
going like this, you know, just in case I miscounted.

Q. But you could have walked a bit slower to the
ball?
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ZACH JOHNSON: I could have walked really slow to
the ball, yeah.  But I'm not so sure I would have felt
good about that.

Q. Is it one of the weirdest rounds you've ever had?
ZACH JOHNSON: No, it's just one weird hole.  3 is
what it is.  I missed the putt, made a 4.  16 was very
strange.  Other than that, I mean, the scorecard looks
pretty boring, and it was.  A lot of greens, hit a lot of
fairways, and made some putts, missed some putts.

Q. What do you want to do to change the scorecard
and make it look a little spicier tomorrow?
ZACH JOHNSON: Well, ideally, hit more fairways, hit
more greens and make more putts.  It's not rocket
science.  This place, if we get some rain, the greens
will be softer so you can be a little more aggressive.
You can be more aggressive off the tee because the
ball won't roll out as much.  I hope it doesn't, because
the golf course right now is absolutely perfect.
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